Finalists for The Chris Rubio Award!

Here are your finalists, in alphabetical order, for The Chris Rubio Award…

Thomas Fletcher, FL, 2017, Committed to Alabama – Fletcher is a two-time winner of a Rubio Long Snapping Vegas Event.  Fletcher is an incredibly smooth Long Snapper with exceptional form and no wasted movement. Fletcher had offers from Alabama, Florida State, Oregon, Texas A&M, Portland State and Memphis. Fletcher is an Army All-American.


Kyle Gibbs, CA, 2017, Committed to Navy  – Gibbs is an extremely solid athlete with quick hands that has no problem getting downfield on punt coverage. He played for a Norco in CA and started on Varsity for three years. Dedicated Long Snapper that is always improving. Gibbs had offers from Air Force, Navy and West Point. Gibbs missed being an Army All-American by a 1/4 of an inch.


Mitch Hall, NC, 2017, Committed to Louisville  – Hall is one of the smoothest Long Snappers in the country with flawless form and a great attitude. He played for Clayton HS in NC and started on Varsity for three years. Always a crowd favorite with his intense and precise snaps to go along with his beaming smile. Hall is an Army All-American


CONGRATULATIONS to these three fine young men! They deserve it.

Now is when it will really get intense. Each finalist is now required to provide the following.

  • No more than a 90 second updated highlight tape that shows great snap, incredible athleticism and possibly the Long Snapper speaking or even a coach/reporter speaking on the Long Snapper as well.  (on YouTube with the title of NAME, CHRIS RUBIO AWARD, 2016)
  • Three letters of recommendation (scanned and emailed to from a current coach, a current teacher and a reporter that covers their area explaining why the Long Snapper deserves to win this prestigious award (that is THREE total letters).

All information must be sent to by 10 pm pst on Friday, December 23rd.

The winner will be selected by the Awards Committee and presented with the trophy on Friday, January 13th at 7:00 pm at the Suncoast Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas, NV.


The Chris Rubio Award is presented, on an annual basis, to the best national high school Long Snapper for that given season. Past winners include Scott Daly of Notre Dame (2011), Cole Mazza of Alabama (2012) and Blake Ferguson (TWO time winner) of LSU.

Chris Rubio played high school football for Charter Oak High School in California from 1989-1992.  He was part of team that won the league championship in 1992 serving as the teams Long Snapper and left tackle.  He was voted Center of the Century in the San Gabriel Valley.  His long snapping ability earned him a spot on the UCLA football team where he was a 3-year starter at Long Snapper for three All-Americans.

The National Long Snapper of the Year is named in honor of Chris Rubio for his outstanding high school career and nearly single handedly changing the world of long snapping.  Chris is now the most prominent private long snapping coach in America.  He has made the position of long snapping a specialty and revered around the country through his website, as well as camps.  Through his training and development of young long snappers, dozens of high school long snapping specialists now receive full ride scholarships each year for their skill in that position.



Speak Your Mind