The 2016 Chris Rubio Award Ceremony

1. What is it?

  • The Chris Rubio Award is presented, on an annual basis, to the best national high school Long Snapper for that given season.

2. Where is it?

  • Suncoast Hotel & Casino (The Madrid Room)
    9090 Alta Drive
    Las Vegas, NV.

3. When is it?

  • Friday, January 13th at 7:00pm.

4. Who is allowed to attend the Awards Show?

  • Open to all, free to attend.   Attire is casual. Doors will open at 7:00pm at the Suncoast Hotel & Casino in the Madrid Room (follow the signs). Trust me when I tell you, you will NOT want to miss this as a special MC will be hosting AND we will be presenting other awards as well that could to you!

5. Who are the three finalists this year?

  • Thomas Fletcher, IMG Academy, FL
  • Kyle Gibbs, Norco HS, CA
  • Mitch Hall, Clayton HS, NC

6. Who is on the Chris Rubio Award Selection Committee and what is their role?

They are the people that vote on the winner. Each committee member votes for a 1st, 2nd and 3rd place Long Snapper. Votes are tallied and the winner is announced at the awards ceremony.

Justin Drescher – Four year starter at Colorado. Currently with the New Orleans Saints.

Christian Yount- Four year starter at UCLA. Two time, and only, Playboy All-American. Senior Bowl participant. First Long Snapper to be offered a scholarship his junior year. NFL Long Snapper with the Cleveland Browns

Corey Adams – Four year starter at Kansas St. All four years without a bad snap (almost 400). 2010 Lowes Award finalist for being a tremendous student-athlete on and off the field.

Aaron Brewer – Four year starter at San Diego St. All four years without a bad snap. Former #1 for Rubio Long Snapping in high school. Currently the starting Long Snapper for the Arizona Cardinals.

Kevin Gold – Kevin Gold is an NFLPA Certified Contract Advisor and creator of the award-winning Web site, dedicated to football long snapping. was founded in 2000 and, in April 2009, converted to its current blog format. Mr. Gold has negotiated in excess of 50 NFL player contracts.

Carson Tinker – Four year starter at Alabama. Currently with the Jacksonville Jaguars.

John Finch – Three year starter at Purdue. Senior most Rubio Long Snapping staff member.

Jon Weeks – Played his collegiate ball with Baylor. Currently with the Houston Texans.

Brandon Huffman –  Brandon is in his seventh year with, currently as a National Recruiting Analyst and West Regional Manager.

Randy Taylor – Randy is a Recruiting Analyst and National Speaker for NCSA Athletic Recruiting.

Greg Biggins – Assistant Recruiting Editor & West Regional Coordinator at ESPN.

Chris Sailer – President and owner of Chris Sailer Kicking

Chris Rubio – President and owner of Rubio Long Snapping.

Above: The 2015 Chris Rubio Award Winner, Johnny Den Bleyker. Den Bleyker now plays for UCLA.

7. Who are the past winners?

  • Johnny Den Bleyker of UCLA (2015)
  • Blake Ferguson of LSU (TWO time winner 2014 & 2013)
  • Cole Mazza of Alabama (2012)
  • Scott Daly of Notre Dame (2011)







If you have any questions about the ceremony, please contact


The National Long Snapper of the Year is named in honor of Chris Rubio for his outstanding high school career and nearly single handedly changing the world of long snapping.  Chris is now the most prominent private long snapping coach in America.  He has made the position of long snapping a specialty and revered around the country through his website, as well as camps.  Through his training and development of young long snappers, dozens of high school long snapping specialists now receive full ride scholarships each year for their skill in that position.

Chris Rubio played high school football for Charter Oak High School in California from 1989-1992.  He was part of team that won the league championship in 1992 serving as the teams Long Snapper and left tackle.  He was voted Center of the Century in the San Gabriel Valley.  His long snapping ability earned him a spot on the UCLA football team where he was a 3-year starter at Long Snapper for three All-Americans.